Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

3D Modelling Caledoran

I really wanted Plague Rat to look and feel very small.

Behind the Walls is a making-of series that explores the challenges and insights we have while making our first comic: Swán.

3D Modelling Caledoran

I ( The ink compass) wasn't very happy with how inconsistent Caledoran was feeling to me. I was having such a hard time figuring out the perspective, especially with the whole keeping-everything-on-scale part.

Plague Rat walks through a big gate, behind which are tiny houses

I really wanted Plague Rat to look and feel very small in contrast to the real big and scary world around him, so to help me with that I decided to make a very simplified 3d model of the whole village.

A 3D Model of Caledoran from a bird’s-eye perspective

I didn't knew a lot of Blender when I started but after a handful of tutorials, actually, I managed to make something that works pretty well for me.

And you really don't need to know a lot to just create some boxes and position the camera on Blender and then take a screenshot.

Plague Rat is so little and vulnerable. Poor kid.

And use it as a reference. That is helping me so much in the process of recreating the pages.


Last in series

Discussion about this podcast

Swán • A Comic
Swán • A Comic
Authors
Michael Schofield
The ink compass